Hall 9. MONET

The history of Impressionism is inseparable from Claude Monet's creative biography. It is no accident that a work by him was used mockingly to give the new rend its name. At the First Exhibition of Impressionists, which was held in Nadar's photo studio in 1874, the artist displayed a work entitled Impression. Sunrise. The critic L. Leroi saw the picture and made use of the title in the heading for his article "Exhibition of Impressionists". As we know, the Impressionists not only accepted the nickname, but actually made it the official title of the group of which Claude Monet became the acknowledged leader.

Show full text

While still in Le Havre where he grew up, Monet began to paint plein-air landscapes on the advice of the well-known painter Eugene Boudin. From his observations the artist concluded that there are no constant local tones in nature and that the colour of every object changes depending on the light. Working in the open air became essential for his art. "I want to capture the moment: the atmosphere and the light diffused in it," the artist confessed. This desire to convey an immediate impression of a motif demanded a radical revision of the basic principles of painting. His interest in the problems of light and colour enabled the artist to renounce subjects completely, while his poetic perception of the world helped him divine pictorial beauty in even the most ordinary motif in nature. So now the very essence of painting, the vibration of the individual moving strokes, became the most important theme in Monet's work. On his canvases objects lose their density, breaking up into an infinite number of light reflexes, which create a single medium of light and atmosphere.

The  place of the large easel painting was taken by the etude or study, which acquired the status of a finished work, but still retained all the freshness of a fleeting visual impression. Seeking to record different light nuances and complex colour relationships, Monet began to create series of pictures depicting the same motif. In 1883 the artist bought the house in Giverny where his most famous cycles were painted - Haystacks and Water Lilies.

Monet painted more than twenty pictures of Rouen Cathedral. The whimsical architecture of French Gothic lost its independent significance for the artist  and become a kind of screen to project the endless play of light and colour.

In his later works such as White Water Lilies (1899) and Seagulls. The River Thames in London. Houses of Parliament (1904), there is a growing tendency to flatten space, which eventually resulted in the easel painting turning into the decorative panel. The fleeting impression gives way to lengthy meditation, which brought Monet's work close to the creations of the French Symbolists.

Сайты Музея

Зал 9. МОНЕ

История импрессионизма неотделима от творческой биографии Клода Моне. Неслучайно именно его произведение дало название новому направлению. На первой выставке импрессионистов, проходившей в фотоателье Надара в 1874 году, художник представил картину «Впечатление. Восход солнца». Увидевший полотно критик Л. Леруа обыграл это название (“Impression…”) в заглавии своей статьи «Выставка импрессионистов». Известно, что импрессионисты не только благосклонно отнеслись к данному им прозвищу, но и использовали его как официальное название группы, признанным лидером которой стал Клод Моне.

Показать полный текст

Еще в Гавре, где прошла юность художника, по совету известного живописца Эжена Будена Моне начал писать пейзажи на открытом воздухе. Наблюдая за природой, художник пришел к выводу, что в натуре нет постоянных локальных тонов, что цвет любого предмета изменчив и зависит от освещения. Работа на пленэре становится художественной программой его творчества. «Я хочу уловить мгновенность: атмосферу и свет, разлитый в ней», – признавался художник. Стремление передать непосредственное впечатление от увиденного мотива потребовало коренного пересмотра основополагающих принципов живописи. Интерес к проблемам света и цвета позволил художнику полностью отказаться от сюжетности, а поэтическое мировосприятие помогло увидеть живописную красоту даже самого непритязательного натурного мотива. Именно маэстрия живописи – вибрация подвижных раздельных мазков – становится важнейшей темой творчества Моне. Предметы на его полотнах теряют плотность, распадаясь на бесконечное число цветных рефлексов, создающих единую свето-воздушную среду.

Место большой станковой картины занял этюд, получивший статус законченного произведения, но сохранивший при этом всю свежесть сиюминутного зрительного впечатления. Стремясь зафиксировать различные нюансы освещения, всю сложность цветовых взаимоотношений, с конца 1880-х годов Моне начинает создавать целые серии картин, посвященные какому-то одному мотиву. В 1883 году художник покупает дом в Живерни; здесь будут написаны его самые известные циклы – «Стога» и «Кувшинки».

Более 20 произведений посвятил Моне изображению Руанского собора. Прихотливая архитектура французской готики теряет для художника свое самостоятельное значение и становится неким экраном, на котором разыгрывается бесконечная игра света и цвета.

В поздних работах, таких как «Белые кувшинки» (1899), «Чайки. Река Темза в Лондоне. Здание Парламента» (1904), начинает нарастать тенденция к уплощению пространства, которая в конечном итоге приведет к превращению станковой картины в декоративное панно. Мгновенность впечатления уступает место длительности созерцания, сближающей произведения Моне с творчеством французских символистов.

Сайты Музея