Hall 12, 13. EUROPEAN PAINTING OF THE SECOND HALF OF THE NINETEENTH CENTURY

In the late 1870s artists from various parts of Europe and America settled in Paris where there was a concentration of private academies and studios, galleries and exhibition halls. The intense artistic life of the French capital not only made it possible to obtain a good education, but provided the opportunity to display one's work at exhibitions. Artists from England, Scotland, Ireland, Spain, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, America and Scandinavia formed international colonies, the largest of which was not far from Paris, in the small village of Grez-sur-Loing. "As well as Impressionism, we studied the whole history, mastering not only the art of the French Impressionists, but all the important trends in European art between 1870 and 1890..." wrote the Swedish art historian A.L. Romdahl.

Show full text

Exponents of so-called National Romanticism, the Norwegian Fritz Thaulow, the Swede Anders Zorn, and the Finns Akseli Gallen-Kallela and Albert Edelfelt, who were educated in Paris, managed to combine their newly acquired skills with the artistic traditions of their national schools and did a great deal to promote the revival of painting in their own countries.

At the same time many well-known fin de siècle artists connected with various national schools and interested in the latest trends in contemporary art were trained in Paris studios. The work of the most talented adherents to the traditions of the French school of painting is represented by Arrangement in Blue and Black by the American British painter James McNeill Whistler, Mother and Child (1890s) by the American Mary Cassatt, The Road to School in Edam and Girl with a Cow (1880s) by the German Max Liebermann, White Night. Aasgardstrand (1902-1903) by the Norwegian Edvard Munch, The Market by the Englishman Frank Brangwyn and Self-Portrait by the Spaniard Ignacio Zuloaga y Zabaleto.

MARY CASSAT

Мать и дитя

1890

81х65, pastel on paper

Горная речка

59,5 х 80, canvas, pastels

Уголок Венеции

Circa 1894

66,5 х 82,5, oil on canvas

Бульвар Мадлен в Париже

1895

88,2x66,3, oil on canvas

FRANK BRANGWYN

Рынок

1893

94,5х102,5, oil on canvas

AKSELI GALLEN-KALLELA

Лунная ночь

1897

46 х 32,5, oil on canvas

ANDERS LEONARD ZORN

Купальщица

1897

52 х 36, oil on canvas

GEORG KOLBE

Наяда

1912

93,8х58х95, bronze

Сайты Музея

Зал 12, 13. ЕВРОПЕЙСКАЯ ЖИВОПИСЬ ВТОРОЙ ПОЛОВИНЫ XIX ВЕКА

В конце 1870-х годов художники из разных стран Европы и Америки прочно обосновались в Париже, где были сосредоточены частные академии и студии, галереи и выставочные залы. Интенсивная художественная жизнь французской столицы не только позволяла получить хорошее образование, но и давала возможность экспонировать свои работы на выставках. Художники, прибывавшие из Англии, Шотландии, Ирландии, Испании, Швейцарии, Германии, Австрии, Америки и Скандинавских стран образовывали интернациональные колонии, крупнейшая из которых располагалась недалеко от Парижа, в деревушке Гре де Луан. «Наряду с импрессионизмом мы познали целую историю, постигнув не только искусство французских импрессионистов, но и все важные тенденции этой эпохи, которые были представлены в европейском искусстве между 1870 и 1890...», – писал шведский историк искусства А.Л. Ромдал.

Показать полный текст

Представители так называемого «национального романтизма» – норвежец Фриц Таулов, швед Андерс Цорн, финны Аксель Галлен-Каллела и Альберт Эдельфельт, получившие образование в Париже, сумели объединить полученные навыки с художественными традициями своих национальных школ, немало способствуя обновлению живописи у себя на родине.

В то же время в парижских студиях сформировались многие известные художники рубежа столетий, связанные с разными национальными школами и тяготевшие к новейшим течениям в современном искусстве. «Аранжировка в голубом и черном» англо-американского художника Джеймса Макнейла Уистлера и «Мать и дитя» (1890-е) американки Мери Кессет, «Дорога в школу в Эдаме», «Девушка с коровой» (1880-е) немца Макса Либермана и «Белая ночь. Осгардстран» (1902–1903) норвежца Эдварда Мунка, «Рынок» (1893) англичанина Фрэнка Бренгвина и «Автопортрет» испанца Игнасио Сулоаги представляют творчество наиболее талантливых приверженцев традиций французской школы живописи.

МЭРИ КЭССЕТ

Мать и дитя

1890-е

81х65, бумага пастель

МАКС ЛИБЕРМАН

Девушка с коровой

1880-е

55х74, бумага пастель

ФРИЦ ТАУЛОВ

Горная речка

XIX-XX век

59,5 х 80, холст, пастель

ФРИЦ ТАУЛОВ

Уголок Венеции

Около 1894

66,5 х 82,5, xолст, масло

ВИЛЬГЕЛЬМ ЛЕЙБЛЬ

Женский портрет

XIX-XX век

45х39,6, xолст, масло

ФРЕНК БРЕНГВИН

Рынок

1893

94,5х102,5, xолст, масло

АНДЕРС ЛЕОНАРД ЦОРН

Купальщица

1897

52 х 36, xолст, масло

ГЕОРГ КОЛЬБЕ

Наяда

1912

93,8х58х95, бронза

КАРЛ МИЛЛЕС

Старуха с девочкой

1900-е

35,5х27х23,5, бронза

Сайты Музея