Hall 6, 7. BASTIEN-LEPAGE AND REALISM

Here you can see works of European painting produced in the last few decades ill the nineteenth century in the traditional Realist manner. Realist art in Prance underwent some significant changes in the course of the century, however, and artists of the 1880s and 1890s could not fail to be influenced to some extent by the new artistic devices of the Impressionists, Symbolists and other trends of the day. At a time when Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works Were just beginning to win widespread recognition, the "Realists" were enjoying great success at the Paris Salon and were readily acquired by museums and collectors. In Russia they were purchased by leading patrons and authorities on art, such as Sergei Tretyakov, Dmitry Botkin, Pavel Kharitonenko, Sergei Sluluikin and Mikhail Morozov. Works by French Realists had an enormous influence on the art of other European countries, promoting the renunciation of obsolete academic traditions and revival of painting. A key role in this process was played by the oeuvre of Jules Bastien-Lepage, represented in the display by the picture The Village Lovers (1882), one of his best known works.

Show full text

In the last third of the nineteenth and the early twentieth century artists often left Paris for the provinces in search of new subjects and fresh impressions. I his resulted in such works as Pascal Dagnan-Bouveret's Nuptial Benediction (1897), Charles Cottet's The Last Supper (1897), Lucien Simon's A Gust of Wind (1901-1905), Leon Lhermitte's Reapers (before 1892) and Jean-Charles Cazin's Village (late 1870s-1880s). In turning to traditional and even archaic subjects, the authors of these works make active use of innovatory artistic language, 'I on bold compositional devices, unexpected foreshortening, free pictorial texture and the fine play of light nuances.

Similar processes, although on a smaller scale, were taking place in the art of other European schools. The Dutch painters Anton Mauve and Jozef Israels, the Belgian artist and sculptor Constantin Meunier, the Hungarian painter Michaly Munkacsy and the German artists Hans von Bartels, Adolf von Menzel and Franz von Lenbach, all represented in the display, were able in some degree or other to be ahead of their time, working in a manner that was closer to the innovatory stylistics of the French school.

The symptomatic boundary between Realist artists and progressive trends in French painting in the last third of the nineteenth century is found in characteristic Paris views. The townscapes by Luigi Loir, Pierre Carridre-Belleuse, Edouard Leon Cortes and Jean Beraud echo certain Impressionist works depicting the French capital.

FRANZ VON LENBACH

Portrait of a Girl

1898

64,5х56, oil on canvas

MICHALY MUNKACSY

Букет

86x77,5, oil on canvas

MICHALY MUNKACSY

Составление букета

Circa 1882

99х78,5, oil on canvas

Жницы

51х63, oil on canvas

Жены рыбаков

1894

58,3х78, gouache

JOZEF ISRAELS

Швеи

1880

59х78, oil on canvas

Порыв ветра

67х107, oil on canvas

ANTON MAUVE

Овцы в лесу

58х98, oil on canvas

Сайты Музея

Зал 6, 7. БАСТЬЕН-ЛЕПАЖ И РЕАЛИЗМ

В зале представлены произведения европейской живописи, созданные в последние десятилетия XIX века в традиционной реалистической манере. Однако искусство реализма во Франции на протяжении столетия претерпело значительные изменения, и художники 1880–1890-х годов не могли быть полностью независимы от новых художественных решений, предложенных импрессионистами, символистами и представителями других направлений той эпохи. В то время как картины импрессионистов и постимпрессионистов только начинали завоевывать широкое признание, произведения «реалистов» пользовались большим успехом в парижском Салоне и охотно приобретались музеями и коллекционерами. В России их покупали крупнейшие меценаты и знатоки искусств: С.М. Третьяков, П.Д. Боткин, П.И. Харитоненко, С.И. Щукин, М.А. Морозов. Произведения французских реалистов оказали огромное влияние на искусство других стран Европы, способствуя разрушению изживших себя академических традиций и обновлению живописи. Ключевую роль в этом процессе сыграло творчество Жюля Бастьен-Лепажа, представленное в экспозиции картиной «Деревенская любовь» (1882), – одной из известнейших работ мастера.

Показать полный текст

В последней трети XIX – начале ХХ веков художники часто покидали Париж, отправляясь в провинцию в поисках новых сюжетов и свежих впечатлений. Так были созданы «Благословление новобрачных» (1880–1881) Паскаля Даньян-Бувре, «Прощальный ужин» (1897) Шарля Котте, «Порыв ветра» (1901–1905) Люсьена Симона, «Жницы» (до 1892) Леона Лермитта и «Деревня» (конец 1870-х – 1880-е) Жана Шарля Казена. Обращаясь к традиционным и даже архаичным сюжетам, авторы этих произведений активно использовали обновленный художественный язык, основанный на смелых композиционных приемах, неожиданных ракурсах, свободной фактуре письма и тонкой игре световых нюансов.

Сходные процессы, хотя и с меньшим размахом, происходили и в искусстве других европейских школ. Голландские живописцы Антон Мауве и Иозеф Израэлс, бельгийский художник и скульптор Константин Менье, венгерский мастер Михай Мункачи, немецкие художники Ханс фон Бартельс, Адольф Менцель и Франц фон Ленбах, представленные в экспозиции зала, в той или иной степени сумели опередить свою эпоху, работая в манере, более близкой новаторской стилистике французской школы.

Симптоматичным рубежом между творчеством художников-реалистов и представителей прогрессивных направлений французской живописи последней трети XIX века, являются характерные парижские виды. Произведения Луиджи Луара, Пьера Каррье-Беллеза, Эдуарда Леона Кортеса и Жана Беро перекликаются с известными работами импрессионистов, на которых запечатлены пейзажи французской столицы.

МИХАЙ МУНКАЧИ

Букет

86x77,5, xолст, масло

МИХАЙ МУНКАЧИ

Составление букета

Около 1882

99х78,5, xолст, масло

ЛЕОН ЛЕРМИТ

Жницы

Вторая половина XIX - XX век

51х63, xолст, масло

ЖАН ШАРЛЬ КАЗЕН

Деревня (Сумерки)

После 1888

xолст, масло

ЙОЗЕФ ИЗРАЭЛС

Швеи

Начало 1880-х

59х78, xолст, масло

ЛЮСЬЕН СИМОН

Порыв ветра

Вторая половина XIX - XX век

67х107, xолст, масло

АНТОН МАУВЕ

Овцы в лесу

58х98, xолст, масло

ЭДУАРД ЛЕОН КОРТЕС

Париж ночью

Около 1908

xолст, масло

Сайты Музея